Home > Athletics News > 2019 > Gibson wins inaugural Earl Ross Cup as NASCAR Series champion


Gibson wins Earl Ross Cup as NASCAR Series champion

Ryan Gibson, of Morgantown, West Virginia, USA, picked up his sixth win of the season on Tuesday night, coming up clutch when needed; he outlasted his three playoff competitors to win the Canadian Championship presented by Keep It Social at the Phoenix Raceway. With the win, Gibson wins the inaugural Earl Ross Cup, awarded to the Canadian eMotorsports Network NASCAR Series champion.

The other three playoff drivers finished the race in the following positions: Corbin MacAulay (second place, Charlottetown, PEI, Canada), Scott Bailey (third place, Allendale, Michigan, USA) and Darcy Ford (seventh place, Harrington, PEI, Canada).

“I’m still a little jittery,” said Gibson following the victory.  “My nerves and heart rate are starting to come down.”

“The first stage I wanted to make sure my tires would last so I took it easy, maybe I laid back a little too far.  I made some adjustments under caution and caught back up so I felt I had a good car that could compete for the win.  I liked how my car felt on the short and long run, I just kept telling myself to not make mistakes.”

Starting from the sixth position, Gibson hung inside the top-five for the first two stages before making his move in the final stage, passing Corbin MacAulay and eventually earning the win.

“The stage three restart was pivotal to try to get track position on MacAulay after he won the first two stages.  With the lead I had to hit my marks, which I missed a few times.  I’d pull away from Corbin but he’d get back to me.  I had to not pay attention to how many laps were left and hit my corners.”


Here are the final race results from the Canadian Championship presented by Keep It Social on Tuesday night.


Here are the official driver standings for the 2020 Canadian eMotorsports Network NASCAR Series.


The 2020 Canadian eMotorsports Network Formula 1 Series continues this Thursday for round 12-of-16 in the Summerside Toyota Japanese Grand Prix at the Suzuka Circuit. 

The 2021 Canadian eMotorsports Network NASCAR Series will begin on January 31 at the Daytona International Speedway.

For more information on the Canadian eMotorsports Network, visit www.hollandcollege.com/eSports.

Connect with the Canadian eMotorsports Network by visiting www.facebook.com/eMotorsportsCANwww.twitter.com/eMotorsportsCAN and www.instagram.com/eMotorsportsCAN.


For more information about this release, please contact:
Daniel Cudmore, Athletics Development and Communications Coordinator
Tel: (902) 894-6870
Date: Wednesday, November 18, 2020