Home > Athletics News > 2019 > Hurricanes adapt by presenting award winners through social media accounts

Womens Basketball

Cross Country

Womens Hockey

Womens Soccer

Womens Volleyball

Mens Baseball

Mens Basketball


Mens Soccer

Mens Volleyball


'Canes adapt by presenting awards through social media

The Holland Hurricanes have been presenting their 2019-2020 athletic award winners through the month of April on their social media accounts.  After it was announced that the student-athletes, coaches and staff would not be gathering on April 3 for the 16th annual Hurricanes Awards Gala due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the ‘Canes have made the best of the situation by celebrating from afar.

For 22 straight days, beginning on March 31, the ‘Canes have counted down individual team award winners, then moved into presenting the major awards (all winners listed below).  The celebration will conclude with the Coach of the Year and male and female Rookie and Athletes of the Year, April 17 through 21.

The nominees for the Hurricanes Rookie and Athletes of the Year awards were announced earlier this week.


Female Rookie of the Year nominees | Sophie Atkinson (basketball), Kateia Barenaba (volleyball), Emily Cormier (soccer), Paige Deighan (soccer/hockey), Aki Kobayashi (basketball), Lindsey Minard (hockey)


Male Rookie of the Year nominees | Nick Blewett (volleyball), Justice Grant (football), Tyson McInnis (baseball), Jayden McMullen (basketball), Ben Sullivan (cross country running), Kaito Yamamoto (soccer)


Female Athlete of the Year nominees | Aki Kobayashi (basketball), Marissa Macaulay (volleyball), Jacy McMillan (hockey), Nikki Roberts (soccer), Dana Trainor (volleyball)


Male Athlete of the Year nominees | Simon Archibald (volleyball), Jordan Holness (basketball), Tyler Johnston (baseball), Alex Lourenso (soccer), Jack Malo (football)


Here are the winners of the awards that have been announced so far in the celebration.


Hurricanes Award; Meagan Ferguson (football/hockey coach & mental performance consultant) and Darrell Theriault (photographer)

Presented in recognition of outstanding support of the varsity program by a student, staff member, volunteer or program.


Leadership in Sport Award; Calandra Bychyk (women’s soccer/volleyball), Paige Deighan (women’s soccer/hockey), Kalie MacKinnon (women’s soccer/volleyball) and Benjamin Nwaogazi-Awuja (men’s soccer/cross country running)

In recognition of a student who contributed to the development and promotion of sport at Holland College and in our community.


Citizenship Award; Sam Gerbig (women’s volleyball) and Bobby Gama (men’s soccer)

In recognition of a student-athlete who has demonstrated outstanding athletic ability, academic excellence and also demonstrates leadership and a commitment to the community.


Hurricanes Physiotherapy Award; Kristin Gosse (women’s basketball)

Presented to a Holland College student-athlete who exemplifies perseverance and overcomes adversity to return to play or continue to contribute to their team after injury or health challenge.


President’s Award; Presented on Thursday, April 16

Recognizing a student who was actively involved in promoting and building the varsity program at Holland College.


Team Award winners:

Men’s Baseball

Top Offensive Player – Chase Brown

Top Pitcher – Tyler Johnston

Leadership Award – Luke Robison

Most Valuable Player – Tyson McInnis


Cross Country Running

Most Valuable Runner – Rebecca Levy

Most Valuable Runner – Ben Sullivan


Men’s Football

Top Offensive Player – Marco Antonio Briones Gutierrez

Top Defensive Player – Jerome Tshimpangila

Offensive Lineman of the Year – Colin Cepecauer

Defensive Lineman of the Year – AJ Fields

Special Teams Player of the Year – Jack Malo

Leadership Award – Max Malo

Most Valuable Player – Jack Malo


Women’s Soccer

Top Offensive Player – Emily Cormier

Top Defensive Player – Rachel Green

Leadership Player – Nicole McInnis

Most Valuable Player – Nikki Roberts 


Men’s Soccer

Top Offensive Player – Kaito Yamamoto

Top Defensive Player – Bobby Gamba

Leadership Award – Jonathan MacKenzie

Most Valuable Player – Alex Lourenso


Dance Team

Leadership Award – Vesley Cireus

Most Valuable Dancer – Brigitte Carroll


Women’s Hockey

Top Offensive Player – Paige Deighan

Top Defensive Player – Lindsey Minard

Leadership Award – Emma Dixon

Most Valuable Player – Jacy McMillan


Women’s Basketball

Top Offensive Player – Sophie Atkinson

Top Defensive Player – Kassandra Little

Leadership Award – Ashley Plaggenhoef

Most Valuable Player – Aki Kobayashi


Men’s Basketball

Top Offensive Player – Jayden McMullen

Top Defensive Player – Jordan Holness

Leadership Award – Jon Alexander Vos

Most Valuable Player - Jordan Holness


Women’s Volleyball

Top Offensive Player – Abby Hyndman

Top Defensive Player – Dana Trainor

Leadership Award – Sam Gerbig

Most Valuable Player – Marissa Macaulay


Men’s Volleyball

Top Offensive Player – Gordon Veitch

Top Defensive Player – Nick Blewett

Leadership Award – Alex Joudrey

Most Valuable Player – Simon Archibald


Here is the schedule for the remaining awards yet to be presented;

Thursday, April 16 | President’s Award

Friday, April 17 | Hurricanes Coach of the Year

Saturday, April 18 | Female Rookie of the Year

Sunday, April 19 | Male Rookie of the Year

Monday, April 20 | Female Athlete of the Year

Tuesday, April 21 | Male Athlete of the Year


Be sure to tune into all future award presentations at daily at 8pm Atlantic through April 21st.

For more information on the Holland Hurricanes, visit,, and


For more information about this release, please contact:
Daniel Cudmore, Athletics Development and Communications Coordinator
Tel: (902) 894-6870
Date: Thursday, April 16, 2020