Home > Athletics News > 2019 > Canadian eMotorsports Network name NASCAR Series trophy the Earl Ross Cup


Canadian eMotorsports Network name NASCAR Series trophy

Ryan Gibson, Corbin MacAulay, Scott Bailey and Darcy Ford now know what they are racing for on Tuesday at Phoenix Raceway.  The Canadian eMotorsports Network have named the championship trophy for their NASCAR Series, the Earl Ross Cup.

Earl Ross (1941-2014) was a professional race car driver from Fortune, Prince Edward Island, Canada; the home province of the Canadian eMotorsports Network which is coordinated by the Holland College Hurricanes.

Ross is recognized as the only Canadian to ever win in the NASCAR Cup Series, the highest level of NASCAR. Ross won the 1974 Old Dominion 500 at the Martinsville Speedway before being named the NASCAR Cup Series Rookie of the Year at the end of the season.

“Earl Ross’s legacy and place in Canadian motorsport history speaks for itself,” shared Canadian eMotorsports Network commissioner, Geordie Carragher.  “We recognize and appreciate his contributions to auto racing, and his story aligns closely with what we want the Canadian eMotorsports Network to become.  We take immense pride in being based on Prince Edward Island, and having that common ground with Mr. Ross made it a no-brainer to name our NASCAR Series championship in his honour.”


Here is a video of the announcement: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-V1-DYSrBCY


After 25 races this season, there is just one remaining, the Canadian Championship presented by Keep It Social, on Tuesday, November 17.  The series championship will be won by the highest finisher of the final-four drivers in the race.

Corbin MacAulay (Charlottetown, PEI, Hurricanes eMotorsports) and Darcy Ford (Harrington, PEI, Atlantic Motorsports) will look to keep the championship on home soil while Ryan Gibson (Morgantown, West Virginia, USA) and Scott Bailey (Allendale, Michigan, USA) hope to bring the championship south-of-the-border.

Ford was the top driver in the series during the regular season while Corbin MacAulay enters the race with momentum, having won last week at Martinsville to qualify for the championship race. Gibson and Bailey also enter with momentum, having won the other two races in the Round-of-8 playoffs earlier this month. 

Phoenix Raceway is a one-mile, low-banked, tri-oval race track.  Tuesday’s race will be contested over three stages, totaling 156-laps.

Drivers that have performed well on similar tracks to Phoenix include MacAulay (won at Richmond and Martinsville) and Ford (won at Bristol).

The race can be viewed live at www.facebook.com/eMotorsportsCAN beginning at 7:30pm eastern.


Here is a look at how the drivers qualified for the championship race after the Round-of-8.


For more information on the Canadian eMotorsports Network, visit www.hollandcollege.com/esportswww.facebook.com/emotorsportsCANwww.twitter.com/emotorsportsCAN and www.instagram.com/emotorsportsCAN


For more information about this release, please contact:
Daniel Cudmore, Athletics Development and Communications Coordinator
Tel: (902) 894-6870
Date: Friday, November 13, 2020